RSS Feed

Riches in the attic

I was compelled to enter my attic in search of some records. I found them and fulfilled my duty but not until I had done just a bit of sentimental journeying. Some old photos: airplanes, (naturally), boyfriends, local ‘scapes and yours truly. “Wasn’t I a dish?” I love that line delivered by the old woman in the movie “Titanic”, when she views an artist’s rendering of her nineteen year old self. I found my birth certificate, folded and faded nearly beyond recognition. Am I getting so old that records of my arrival are dissipating with the years? No, couldn’t be! They used poor quality ink then.

I read an old love letter and the words, “We can fit into their world, but can they fit into ours?”.

And then I stopped myself, but not until I glanced at numerous boxes and mentally apprised their content. Scads of photos, (back before the digital era) loose and in albums. Letters, cards, articles, hundreds of records of pilot exams given, my low level waivers for airshow performances, airshow flyers and pilot logbooks (my fathers and mine).

It’s going to take days to ramble through the memories those boxes contain as I fondle each article and taste the sentiment it offers. I want to do so purposefully and completely. There’s a lot of boxes and I thought, “Wow, I’ve lived a really full life.” I have a feeling that several chapters are in my attic. Just need to take a deep breath in preparation for the emotional dredging and unearthing, roll up my sleeves and dig in. Soon very soon…..

6 responses »

  1. For those interested in a well priced way to scan in old photographs. These guys will do it by the box. http://digmypics.com/
    While I did not do their box, I did get all my old slides converted to digital. The are very nice. And I did order the extra tfff formats incase their are any spectacular ones that I want to edit my self.

    There is at least on service in India that will do it for about haff the cost, but keeping it in country seemed safer to me and worth it as it is a one shot deal.

    Reply
  2. Mike Weinfurter

    Not only are youa helluva pilot, but you have the gift of wirting and storytelling!

    Reply
  3. Rusty Richards

    yeah, poor quality ink… yeah!

    Reply
  4. Oh dear, the ravages of time…

    Ponder this for a bit-

    With the grace of God someday in the future someone else will be pondering the wonders of learning to fly the Prince…

    I can only hope that they revere and share not just the machine, but her history-her life, the way you have!

    For all of my bit part in the secure and comfortable world of electronically controlled aircraft fueled by kerosene with globe-spanning range I still miss the musty smell of a well loved stick and tube airframe…or landing a spam can of a Mooney on a one way dirt strip, or a 207 at Chefornik or Kwigillingok in a 30 kt crosswind!

    You’ve held up as well as or better than I have-of course I just have a beer gut and a few grey hairs-well earned mind you!

    If I didn’t take some of those pictures you’re running across, I was probably thereabouts somewhere…seems I remember something about the demise of a Styrofoam cooler at Eastsound, and we’re both in better shape than it is!

    Ha!

    Reply
  5. Your attic is the book you are writing. Sorting out the past, even though you’ve gone through it before, well can be, even many years past, a tear jerking task.

    Reply
  6. Summer,
    You’re still a dish!
    8o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

